Adventure: Byron Bay

Three days in paradise.

Byron Bay Beaches

Truly, paradise (the beaches of Byron Bay)

First, in recovering from a 12.5 hour bus ride from Sydney which included little sleep and of even less quality, I wandered the beaches and trekked my way out to Bikram Yoga Byron Bay to practice and put my body back to straights.

The next two days, I had surfing lessons for the first time. The verdict? I am not a natural: I’ve never been a quick learner (rather a persistent one). However, as I suspected, I loved it. Loved the challenge of it, the patience of it. So incredibly fulfilling and satisfying. So much like yoga: both require concentration, determination, patience, and physical strength (though surfing is more agility than flexibility). To excel, you must be mindful.

Extreme Concentration: if you blink your eyes, you might lose your balance!

Extreme Concentration: if you blink your eyes, you might lose your balance!

Small anecdote: in the morning, practicing yoga outside my tent to warm up before my second day surf lesson, I was about to put my head down in Standing Head to Knee pose (the most difficult moment for me to maintain my balance) when two wild turkeys rush past me, chasing each other. And by ‘past me,’ I mean ‘two inches from my standing leg foot.’ In that moment, I learned the limits of my concentration. I lost my focus, therefore lost my balance and fell over. Such a hilarious way to learn that lesson though!

Next Up: Teaching Yoga in Brisbane and Noosa

Leave a Reply

