The Great Ocean Road and a Great Visit

This past week, I was incredibly lucky as my fellow teacher and dear friend Katie came to visit. We both come from the Bay Area yoga studios, although Katie has been teaching in New Zealand now for several months. I miss her all the time, and was ecstatic to host her for a long weekend. We made the most of her short trip. She took my class, I took her class (so much clapping, so much sweetness with juuuust the right dash of sass and authority), we wandered/ate our way around Melbourne, and took a whirlwind overnight adventure along the iconic Great Ocean road.

The Twelve Apostles

The Twelve Apostles at sunset

Little would either of us have guessed a year ago that this time one year later we’d still be hanging out, goofing around in yoga postures, and drinking pearl tea—but on the other side of the world. It’s so wonderful how much things can change while simultaneously staying exactly the same. Just like the yoga: same 26&2, millions of ways to experience it.

Aforementioned Pearl Tea (A major food group in my life)

Aforementioned Pearl Tea (A major food group in my life)

Aforementioned  Postural Play: Standing Bow in Federation Square

Aforementioned Postural Play: Standing Bow in Fed Square

In experiences like this, I am constantly overwhelmed by how lucky I am to have yoga in my life. Look at all the amazing people I get to know and things I end up doing because of it!

2 responses to “The Great Ocean Road and a Great Visit

  1. Tracy

    I’m glad I saw your the flyer about your blog posted at the studio or else I wouldn’t have seen two of my favorite BYSC teachers in the same place half way around the world. I think it’s awesome that you get to travel the world while doing what you love. I really enjoyed taking your classes because of the positive energy you brought. After a seemingly tough class, you reminded me as I exited the classroom that it was okay to smile now. I always remember this when class is over because making it to class and thru class is an accomplishment as well as gift to myself, and I should not take that for granted. Best of luck! I look forward to reading about your adventures in the land down under.

    • Thank you so much for this sweet message, Tracy. It totally made my day– it’s so nice to hear that my classes felt that way for you. That’s exactly what I aim for! Hope all is going well for you, in your yoga practice and in life!

Leave a Reply

